softgooregon.blogg.se

Ms word alternative for mac
Ms word alternative for mac











ms word alternative for mac
  1. #Ms word alternative for mac software
  2. #Ms word alternative for mac Pc
  3. #Ms word alternative for mac download
  4. #Ms word alternative for mac free
  5. #Ms word alternative for mac mac

When ClarisWorks 1.0 arrived, I jumped at the most integrated office suite to date. On the Mac, I cut my teeth on Excel 3.0 working at the local ComputerLand store. When I moved to MS-DOS, I chose PFS: First Choice as my office suite.

#Ms word alternative for mac free

I have been using spreadsheets since Compute! magazine released its free SpeedCalc spreadsheet for the Commodore 64 in January 1986.

#Ms word alternative for mac mac

LibreOffice gives you replacements for Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and even Access, Microsoft’s Windows-only database app that has never even been available for any version of the Mac OS. Seriously, what’s more low-end that free? Bean was a very nice, simple, quick, free OS X alternative to Word for basic documents, but it’s no longer being developed. The same probably goes for LibreOffice’s other modules, but I can’t comment, as I haven’t used any of the other modules. If it’s important that your resumé, cover letter, or other important document look just right in Microsoft Word, your best option is to open it in Word, fix any problems you may find, and then re-save as a Word file. This is true of any app that supports Microsoft Office formats. It’s Not Word or ExcelĪlthough LibreOffice can open and save Microsoft Office files, because you’re working in a different program, your documents and spreadsheets may display differently in Microsoft Office. My solution is to only use plain text in my graphs. It isn’t true italic or bold, just angled or doubled. If you use italic or bold type, you’ll see what I mean. On the negative side, LibreOffice handles type poorly in its graphs. I’ve been impressed at how easy the LibreOffice spreadsheet is to work with, since I’ve been using AppleWorks for ages and really haven’t used Excel since version 3 or 4. It’s not a night-and-day difference here, since these charts show Windows user share among visitors to Low End Mac from October 2009 to March 2014, but I think the smoothed lines just look nicer. That’s been my primary use for AppleWorks, and it will be my primary use for LibreOffice.

ms word alternative for mac

That means you can use your LibreOffice files on the three most widely used platforms, giving you compatibility with most hardware under 15 years old.Įvery time you launch LibreOffice, it will tell you if there’s a newer version available for download.

#Ms word alternative for mac Pc

On the PC side, Windows XP or newer with 256 MB of RAM is required, and the Linux version has the same memory requirement. Version 4.2.5 is the current version, so PowerPC users aren’t too far behind the curve.

#Ms word alternative for mac download

LibreOffice 4.0.x supports PowerPC and OS X 10.4 Tiger and newer, so even they have an option, although finding the download is a challenge. It’s not as pretty as the commercial apps, and the current version (5.1.3) requires OS X 10.6 or later, so it only works on Intel-based Macs, but that’s the vast majority of Macs in use today.Ībout 15% of Mac users visiting Low End Mac are still running G3, G4, and G5 Macs with older versions of OS X.

ms word alternative for mac

LibreOffice is a competent replacement for Microsoft Office, AppleWorks, and other office suites. If you use Windows or Linux, LibreOffice gives you the same capabilities and open document formats, making it easy to work with the same file on any of the major platforms. (I don’t use Windows, but I have read user reports that AppleWorks for Windows is incompatible with Window 8.) Broad Hardware Support

#Ms word alternative for mac software

AppleWorks development ended in 2007, and the software only runs in XP compatibility mode on Windows 7 and later – if it runs on Windows 8 at all. LibreOffice can open Microsoft Office files as well as AppleWorks word processing documents, and after I export my spreadsheets into Excel format, LibreOffice can open them as well.īy the way, despite its name, AppleWorks was also available for Microsoft Windows. Likewise, I can’t run AppleWorks in Mavericks, so if I want to be able to work with my spreadsheets, I have to export them from AppleWorks (still running on my 2007 Mac mini with Snow Leopard). Problem is, I’m using Mavericks on my MacBook, so Office 2004 is not an option – nor do I want to spend the money to buy a newer version. I rarely use Microsoft Office, although I do have Office 2004 on my OS X 10.4 Tiger, 10.5 Leopard, and 10.6 Snow Leopard Macs. Unfortunately, AppleWorks is incompatible with OS X 10.7 Lion and later, so I’ve had to find an alternative since installing OS X 10.9 Mavericks on my Late 2008 Aluminum MacBook. I’m using it to replace AppleWorks, which I’ve been using since ClarisWorks 1.0 shipped back in the System 7.0 era. LibreOffice is a free alternative to the not-inexpensive Microsoft Office suite.













Ms word alternative for mac